23-27 Leeming Street — Food Plus (Pasikonik)
A building of unique design and once the home of Leckenby's
One of the more popular businesses to occupy 23-27 Leeming Street was Leckenby’s, a high-quality food store pioneered by Mr Charles Crow and Mr Leckenby in 1902. Both had been employees at the Allen & Co. grocer’s of Church Street before deciding to found the Crow & Leckenby café at 23 Leeming Street, which was later extended into number 25 to include a grocery in 1906.
After WWI, Mr Leckenby ran the business himself and the Leckenby’s name was retained, despite a series of buy-outs by other companies, until its closure in 1973.
The Food Plus, formerly Pasikonik, Polish supermarket has been on the site since 2015.
The building is not listed but has a unique design inspired by the Dutch style.
The building is quite ornately decorated with the large mid-late 20th-century shopfront covering the whole of the elevation.
The is also some white salt staining to the upper floors which could be the masonry drying out after repairs and the sash windows are also in poor condition.
Explore the evidence for the original shopfront and include for reinstatement and consider reinstating the missing pediments.